Formula One cars are the world’s fastest regulated road-course racing cars, thanks to extremely high cornering speeds achieved through the generation of massive amounts of aerodynamic downforce. Much of this downforce is generated by the front and rear wings, which also cause severe turbulence behind each car. Turbulence reduces the downforce generated by a car following directly behind, making overtaking difficult. The cars have undergone significant changes for the 2022 season, including increased use of ground effect aerodynamics and modified wings to reduce turbulence behind the cars to make overtaking easier. The cars rely on electronics, aerodynamics, suspension, and tyres. Traction control, launch control, automatic shifting, and other electronic driving aids were banned for the first time in 1994. They were briefly reintroduced in 2001 before being banned in 2004 and 2008, respectively.

The first drivers’ championship of the season was won in 2002 when Michael Schumacher took the title with six races to go. Although only seven of the twenty Formula One races that season were unified with the title, the identification was valid. The points system changed in 1990 so that all Formula 1 races were included in the championship, and 10 points could be awarded for one win instead of 9. Michael Schumacher is one point ahead of Williams-Renault teammate Jacques Villeneuve, who will take part in the last stage of the 1997 European Grand Prix in Jerez.

Michael Schumacher fails misleadingly as Williams-Renault teammate Jacques Villeneuve continues to lead before stepping back to finish the third titleholder as Mika Hakkinen wins his first Grand Prix. Michael Schumacher was suspended later in the season for an illegal car plan, but he showed a spark of genius that would have won him many more driver’s titles in all races. It was all about Michael Schumacher taking victory after victory to carry himself into the new century as one of the most successful drivers ever to race. Ayrton Senna races over the curbs to win at the 1993 Australian Grand Prix in Adelaide, his last race for a recovering McLaren before moving to Williams-Renault in 1994. 

A clash is just around the corner a year after Alain Prost staged the slowest crash ever to determine a Formula 1 title, winning the title in 1989 from Ayrton Senn. The Brazilian paid back with the compliment again at Suzuka. Together with his teammate Alain Prost, Niki Lauda wins the Drivers’ Championship by half a point from his own, winning 12 of the 16 races of the season. A tense rivalry sees teammates Hamilton and Alonso finish tied on points, one short of the drivers. Hard work gradually turned the MP4-24 into a winning race, with Hamilton winning in Hungary and Singapore to help the team finish third in the standings, one point ahead of Ferrari.